Badshahi Mosque and Food Street, Lahore

Having something of a phobia of heights, taking these pictures from hundreds of feet above the ground was a bit of a challenge for me. I look down from the first storey of a building and my head spins. However, for some odd reason, the beauty of the place somehow nulled my fear. The splendor of the view took center stage in my head, and the fear trailed in the background, like a minor nuisance. I was able to move towards the edge of the terrace at Cuckoo’s Den, my eyes locked on the incredible mosque. I momentarily forgot all about the height.

Just in case though, I made two of my cousins stand on either side of me who held me (in case I suddenly felt the urge to jump off the edge) and I clicked.

 

 

 

 

21 responses

  1. WHOAA!!! wow!! this is amazing! πŸ˜€

    July 20, 2012 at 12:04 am

  2. Anonymous

    awsome pics…i m really impressed by ur photography….

    July 20, 2012 at 12:19 am

    • thank you πŸ™‚

      July 20, 2012 at 12:20 am

  3. Malik

    awsome pics…i m really impressed by ur photography…:)

    July 20, 2012 at 12:23 am

  4. I swear the last time when I was at Food Street I was talking of how I would love to get up there on Cuckoo’s rooftop and capture the mosque on camera from the heightened angle, that is, when I gain the possession of a decent camera.
    You’ve done just perfect and I feel no need to go up there now. That’s sad and good simultaneously πŸ˜›
    Great Work! Keep on invading unexplored territories I plan to, but can’t due to the absence of an army πŸ˜€

    July 20, 2012 at 10:37 pm

  5. thanks! πŸ˜€ get the camera soon and then I’ll have some real competition!:p

    July 20, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  6. Awesome Photography!

    July 23, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    • thanks πŸ™‚

      July 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm

  7. Β‘Fotos preciosas al igual que el lugar!, abrazos

    August 4, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  8. Makes me want to visit Lahore. Beautiful.

    August 5, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  9. thank you:)

    August 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm

  10. Always wanted to see stuff other then photos on your blog, although everything on here is primarily supposed to be photoish, even the title! Anyhoo this is the tag post thing I told you about, make a start! Follow the link:

    http://usamalali.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/the-liebster-award-tag-post/

    August 5, 2012 at 10:07 pm

  11. Love the vibrant colors. Good to see you managed to face your fear of heights. I suffer from vertigo myself.

    August 7, 2012 at 6:10 am

    • thanks alot πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2012 at 12:51 pm

  12. Fortunately I had a chance last days to visit this Food street with my friends. We went there around 8-8:30 pm and the scene was same as is looking in your pics. Enjoyed a lot there.. Your post remind me of that time..

    August 7, 2013 at 11:07 am

  13. Pakistan is a rich cultural country and it has beautiful tourism sites and cities. Northern areas of Pakistan are the most beautiful part of the country. Architecture of this country is also very eye catching. I Have some unique info about badshahi masjid in Lahore. I hope you will enjoy reading about this beautiful mosque in Lahore city of pakistan. Badshahi Masjid In Lahore. Please feel free to give any feedback on this Mosque.

    August 10, 2014 at 12:32 pm

  14. Pingback: The Colorful Food Street – Lahore (Pakistan) | World for Travel

  15. Mazhar

    Subhanallah, Beautiful pics.
    May i use the pictures of the mosque in my restaurant?

    March 19, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    • Sure but please give me credit. Which restaurant by the way?

      March 19, 2015 at 3:09 pm

  16. I am grateful for this valid information. You have represented your points in an insightful and interesting way.

    November 8, 2015 at 11:52 am

Share Your Views on This

