An Epileptic Child

I met this child a few days ago. He came up behind me, suddenly grabbing my arm while yelling something I could not make out. Naturally, I was scared. I jumped and tried to free myself. Luckily, his father was behind him. He yanked him away from me. As his father steered him away, the child kept his head turned towards me, as if calling out for help. I noticed how scared his eyes looked. He was unsure of the world. Unsure of who he was. He was six years old and he has had epilepsy all his life. 

Later, I took some pictures of him, and during the whole time he kept saying just one word: roti, roti (food)…

6 responses

  1. this is heartbreaking…such a cute looking kid..under different circumstances, he should be playing, enjoying life..:/
    but such is life…

    April 30, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    • i know.. it was really sad to watch him.. u wont believe how scared he looked..

      April 30, 2012 at 10:54 pm

  2. Pingback: Five Types of Dancers You’ll Meet at Parties « Third Eye

  3. I have a nephew and a sister who are epileptic, and my daughter had febrile convulsions, so that is bad enough on it’s own, but the poor kid … 😦

    May 4, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    • That’s really sad to hear.. 😦

      May 4, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  4. Khalid

    Ok so here’s what I dont like, n thats got nothing to do with you since you only took a picture of what you saw … Why on earth do they have his head shaved ? He only looks uglier ! May be he has head lice too. We Pakistanis love to assume sick roles n gather people’s sympathies. I hope this poor kid can lead a life as normal as possible and doesnt become a panhandler at some traffic light … Baji jee Allah kay naam pur mudad karo, mujhay mirgi hai !

    May 8, 2012 at 3:37 am

Share Your Views on This

